Norway – A story of sea-kissed mountains and ridiculous excitement levels – Part 2

Ok, let’s get down to business, here’s what you should do if you decide to visit this part of Norway – and you should! This is just what I discovered so far, but there is much more.

  1. Preikestolen hike (to the Pulpit Rock)
  2. Kayaking/Sailing or other water sports (when it’s not too windy!)
  3. Kjerag bolten hike (that boulder stuck between the mountains)
  4. Troll’s tongue (further up north – didn’t get there yet, but it’s on my list for next time)
  5. Stavager city
  6. Walks on the coast

Preikestolen

I’m going to copy-paste this short description from Google and then I’ll give you my take on it.

Preikestolen or Prekestolen (English: Preacher’s Pulpit or Pulpit Rock) is a famous tourist attraction in the municipality of Forsand in Rogaland county, Norway. Preikestolen is a steep cliff which rises 604 metres (1,982 ft) above the Lysefjorden. Atop the cliff, there is an almost flat top of approximately 25 by 25 meters (82 ft × 82 ft).

Now, let me tell you something… THIS ROCK ROCKSSSS!! When I reached it, after a 2-hour hike, my breath literally stopped when I peaked towards the bottom, where that beautiful turquoise sea was cutting through the mountain. I think I said ‘Wow’ and ‘Oh my God’ at least 50 times… hahaha.

I was actually on my own when I got there, so it was a bit weird talking to myself, but hey, who cares??

The view is like a glimpse into heaven. It takes all your worries away, and the tiny world you create in your mind to survive your petty daily routine is wiped out by a feeling of awe and overwhelming joy.

I couldn’t stop smiling throughout the hike! I had to excuse my excitement a few times towards tourists looking at me taking photos with all devices and shouting at Ricky and Ian ‘Guys, take a photo here! and here! Come on. Oh my God, look at this!’ Someone said to me at one point ‘If you get so excited here, what are you going to do when you reach the top?’. I don’t know?! Faint? Silly tourists… 😛

The hike is challenging but pleasant, dramatic at points, filling your lungs with fresh air, cooling you with waterfalls and quick rain showers, surprising you with the sunshine when those warm rays start peaking from behind the clouds… It’s absolutely stunning all the way through and anyone can do it!

Once you get to the top, this big plateau hanging above the sea looks scary, but step by step you get closer, take in the views, become braver and then you capture some of the most palm-sweating photos.

I admit I wasn’t brave enough to sit on the very edge, but I got close enough! Still battling some anxiety and fear of heights, but I will conquer these fears next time!

We spent about an hour or so at the top, having a quick picnic and fooling around. But I will let the photos do the talking now.

IMG_9634IMG_9571IMG_9566IMG_9556IMG_9548IMG_9546IMG_9490v2IMG_9485IMG_7563IMG_7538IMG_7541IMG_7476IMG_9203

Below is the view from the bottom, when we took the boat through the fjord to get to the Kjerag Bolten. That poking platform you see at the top is where the earlier photos were taken. Yep. Crazy!

IMG_9972IMG_9741IMG_9776IMG_9784

2 Comments Add yours

  1. andytgeezer says:

    Those are amazing views!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maria says:

      They really were… Looking back on them now, I get butterflies in my stomach. It was one of the best trips I ever took. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

